web analytics

December 17, 2018

BMW Announce N24 Drivers – Lucas Luhr Added to the Roster

BMW Announce N24 Drivers – Lucas Luhr Added to the Roster

BMW Motorsport today confirmed the drivers who will wear the famous M stripes at the 24 Hours of Nürburgring as official factory drivers.

Long time factory pilots Jörg and Dirk Müller, Uwe Alzen, Dirk Werner, Claudia Hürtgen and Dirk Adorf are all named, as are some new faces. Perhaps the biggest news is the naming of ex-Porsche and Audi driver and ALMS champion Lucas Luhr in the party. The German has won the 24 hours at the Green Hell twice for Porsche with Manthey Racing, in 2006 and 2011.

Young talent Jens Klingmann returns, and Dominik Baumann is also named. Drivers from BMW’s DTM program will complete the line up, and it can be expected that Maxime Martin, one of the stand out stars of the 2013 race while driving for the Marc VDS squad, will return once more.

The teams representing BMW Motorsport officially will once more be BMW Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS. Marc VDS took second place in last year’s weather affected event, which was stopped for most of the night due to heavy rain and fog. Schubert will hope for a better race in 2014, after their two cars collided early on in 2013.

“We are already looking forward to the Nürburgring 24 Hours,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “This classic race plays an important role in the history of BMW Motorsport, which is why it is always a very special event for us. After finishing runners-up in 2013, we have our sights set on a return to the podium and are determined to show how competitive the BMW Z4 GT3 is on the endurance circuit. The 24-hour race at the Nürburgring is a law unto itself, pushing both man and machine to the very limit. However, our drivers know exactly what to expect. With them, we are well positioned to successfully overcome the challenge of the ‘Green Hell’.”

About The Author